TrackHawk Break in? - Jeep TrackHawk Forum
 6Likes

post #1 of 16 Old 05-22-2019, 05:30 PM Thread Starter

Question TrackHawk Break in?

I should recieve Delivery of my Trackhawk this week, and was wondering if anyone has a recommended engine break in method? I'm new to Hemi's and supercharged motors. I know some people argue no special break in methods anymore for late model engines, but I grew up doing the routine on my previous rides.

Much appreciated
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 05-22-2019, 08:41 PM
Super Moderator

Idk if there’s any argument to be had, there’s a break in procedure provided my the manufacturer in the manual. You either follow it or don’t, in the end it’s your vehicle, do whatever you want with it.
I chose to follow the procedure because I’m planning on holding onto this for a while.

FYI, there’s a thread called break in (I think) that has the excerpt from the manual.
post #3 of 16 Old 05-23-2019, 05:16 PM
Super Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulieT View Post
I should recieve Delivery of my Trackhawk this week, and was wondering if anyone has a recommended engine break in method? I'm new to Hemi's and supercharged motors. I know some people argue no special break in methods anymore for late model engines, but I grew up doing the routine on my previous rides.

Much appreciated
Ha the most heated debate since 9mm or 45cal you will get both sides. Me personally ask what is there to brake in? we have roller rockers - the motor has been heat cycled at the factory so pistons are set we can go on and on but the one thing thats way over my head someone brought up was the metal is the gears(rear end). have they been heat cycled? I know if you get gears installed new in a car there is special oil and how long how fast to drive etc and change the oil out in 100 miles. I would like to think thats all done at the factory but no clue?