Jeep TrackHawk Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie with just under 1k miles on my 2018. I love the ride but curious if everyone else experiences this scenario. When driving around the city at normal speeds in auto mode it seems like the Trackhawk shifts into a gear to high or maybe locks the converter so that when you step on the gas a nomral amount it is lugging the engine. You can depress the accelerator hard to get out of it but the engine lugging seems like something is wrong to me.

·
Registered
412 Posts
Have you tried driving it around for 50-60 miles or so in Sport? In Auto, it can be a little lazy, unless you give it half+ throttle and then it will downshift. I drive around in Auto most of the time, and it shifts into 8th gear by 40mph. It seems perfectly content at 1500rpm or so (which might be considered lugging the engine), but I've gotten used to it.

If you don't want it upshifting into a really high gear, put it in Sport and drive it like that... no more lugging.

·
Registered
685 Posts
Dial in the settings for your exact preferences.

I keep everything on track except for suspension which I leave on the softest mode.

This way, the engine and transmission respond lightning quick, but the ride quality remains good.

·
Registered
267 Posts
I'm with black track on the custom setting, but I keep trans in sport not track, otherwise it holds pretty low gears and will have me cruising at 3k rpm.

Reactions: Quicksilver

·
Registered
412 Posts
My Custom Mode is trans in Track, Suspension in Auto, Steering in Sport. I'm either in this, or in Auto for cruising. I do _not_ take for granted that we can customize our driving experience for our needs/wants. Very good job by FCA.

Reactions: Quicksilver

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·